CAFE Foundation Banner
Home Electric Aircraft Green Flight Challenge RESEARCH & PUBLICATIONS ABOUT CAFE

  PADA - Personal Aircraft Design Academy

Pipistrel Taurus G4

2016 PADA Awards

The 2016 CAFE Foundation Personal Aircraft Design Academy is just around the corner! PADA 2016 is on Friday, July 29 at 6:45 p.m. in the Vette Theater at the EAA Museum, following the NASA Panel on Electric and Self Fly. The PADA presentation is preceded by a reservations-only $25 hors d'oeuvre reception at 5:30 p.m. on July 29 in the EAA Museum's Fergus Plaza.

This year’s PADA technical speaker is Tom Neuman. Tom won the graduate student division of the 2015 NASA University Design Contest with his design for a four-seat, fuel-cell electric general aviation aircraft. His design for a PAV flying car won a similar NASA Design Contest for high-school students in 2008. Tom received his BS and MS in aerospace engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology under the auspices of the Aerospace Systems Design Laboratory (ASDL), while completing six co-op sessions with Rolls-Royce engines, Sikorsky helicopters, and Boeing commercial aircraft.

Following Tom’s presentation, CAFE Foundation will announce the recipient of this year’s PADA Trophy. PADA is a wonderful opportunity to network with leaders in personal aircraft design. We hope you will join us at Oshkosh!

Please register here.

2015 PADA Awards Dinner

The 2015 Personal Aircraft Design Academy will feature two excellent presentations: Burt Rutan on the SkiGull and Nick Borer on the LEAPTECH project. This will be followed by the ceremony to award the esteemed PADA Trophy to a surprise recipient. A reservations-only $20 hors d'oeuvre pre-reception at 6:15 PM on July 24 in the EAA Museum's Fergus Plaza will provide an excellent opportunity to meet with aviation's top personal aircraft designers.

PADA 2014 Awards

PADA is the Personal Aircraft Design Academy, an annual colloquium for leading aircraft designers, enthusiasts and aero engineers. Each year, PADA awards what many now consider to be the highest honor in personal aircraft design, the PADA Trophy. For 2014, the tropy was awarded to Airbus for the e-Fan, with John O'Leary accepting the award.

PADA 2012 Meeting

The 2012 meeting was highlighted by Tine's presentation of his work on the Green Flight Challenge champion aircraft, the Pipistrel Taurus G4, which achieved 403.5 pMPG.

Global Village at PADA 2010


Greg Cole admires the 2010 PADA Trophy

The 2010 meeting of the Personal Aircraft Design Academy during the Oshkosh AirVenture again included a global network of the brightest designers of personal aircraft. PADA Laureates Burt Rutan, Bruce Holmes and Dick VanGrunsven from the USA joined the many members of NASA and leading designers from Toyota, Slovenia, Germany and Sweden for an outstanding presentation by 2010 PADA Trophy honoree, Greg Cole."

PADA 2010 enjoyed an outstanding presentation by Greg Cole, who described his extremely high performance aircraft projects. Greg was awarded the PADA Trophy and Medal for 2010 for his long career of high achievements in personal aircraft design, and his nameplate was added to those of the legendary group of prior PADA Trophy Honorees.

In 2003, the perpetual PADA Trophy was designed and built for PADA to commemorate outstanding career achievement in personal aircraft design. It resides in the EAA AirVenture Museum. Several of its esteemed honorees (listed below) gathered for the PADA 2010 to receive their commemorative PADA Medal of Honor.

PADA Trophy Honorees

  • 2003: Dr. Bruce Holmes
  • 2004: Dick VanGrunsven
  • 2005: Werner Pfenninger
  • 2006: Alan Klapmeier
  • 2007: Jerry Gregorek
  • 2008: John Roncz
  • 2009: Burt Rutan
  • 2010: Greg Cole
  • 2011: Barnaby Wainfan
  • 2012: Tine Tomazic
  • 2013: John Sharp
  • 2014 Airbus (the "e-Fan", John O'Leary accepting)

PADA Committee:

  • Peter Garrison
  • Jerry Gregorek
  • Todd Hodges
  • Bruce Holmes
  • Dan Raymer
  • Paul Schlein
  • Sid Siddiqi
  • Case van Dam

PADA Awards at AirVenture 2009


From left: Alan Klapmeier (Cirrus founder),
Burt Rutan (Scaled Composites),
Bruce Holmes (NASA, SATS)
and Dick VanGrunsven (Van's Aircraft)
Click to enlarge

The Personal Aircraft Design Academy (PADA) evolved from the Laminar Flow True Believers Society that met at the Oshkosh AirShow every summer. The PADA Committee plans its annual meeting of aeronautical engineers and EAA innovators to have presenters who are highly accomplished in personal aircraft design/science.




Home Electric Aircraft Green Flight Challenge Research & Publications Privacy Policy About CAFE
Copyright © 2020 CAFE Foundation